In 2009, I will…

Well, it’s that time of year again. The time when everyone promises to become the best person they can be starting today. And then tomorrow rolls around and suddenly that idea doesn’t seem so great. But it just feels wrong to start a new year without sky high hopes for the coming days. If you’re like me and have to make resolutions, be specific, don’t start all at once, and be realistic.

1. Be happy. OK,  I know that doesn’t follow any of the three guidelines but I feel like it’s so crucial it transcends experts’ opinions. It’s very easy to lose sight of what’s important and how much you have when you forget to just be happy. If you focus on the positive I think everything becomes monumentally easier.

2. Ask one intelligent, well-thought out question at the Inauguration. When I’m around people of important social stature, I develop the IQ of a newt. (completed 1-19-09)

3. Eat raw for one week. I’ve been a vegetarian for 4+ years and I absolutely love it. I got a little over confident one day in high school and declared I was going vegan. I think I managed for three days and then called it quits. It was much more difficult than anticipated. I’ve met several “raw foodies” and all of them have raved about their lifestyle. It was undeniable that they were some of the most energetic people I’ve ever met. But they were also passionate. They loved telling anyone who would listen about the changes they’ve seen in themselves by simply changing their diet.

4. Participate in the 2009 Chicago Marathon. Notice the absence of the word “run.” This past year I was there to cheer on a family friend and was amazed and the determination and sheer strength of will. People of all kinds crossed that finish line and I knew I wanted to be a part of it. My mother and I pinky swore we’d run it in 2009. And I don’t go back on a pinky swear.

5. Get work published. As a journalist, that’s kind of a biggie.

6. Leave the country. Summer 2009. More on that later.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “In 2009, I will…

  1. Justin Kozak

    For me, my resolutions pretty much end at the start of August. In order of importance:
    1. Finish thesis (and thus graduate…again)
    2. Leave the country.
    3. Jump 5.00m
    4. Wear a devil costume and run next to the perennial old dude in a devil costume in a mountain stage of the Tour de France.

Leave a Reply

