Women’s Pro Soccer and Chicago Red Stars post on Bleacher Report

So, through a strange turn of events I’ve been tapped to write articles for Bleacherreport.com as a Chicago Red Stars correspondent.

Let me explain. The Women’s Profession Soccer League (WPS) launched in April of this year. They have 7 teams, including one in Chicago that plays at Toyota Park. So my mom and I have gone to their two home games thus far and have thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It’s great soccer, a great stadium and close to home. Well, I was reading a blog post about the games at Bleacher Report and I noticed the author wrongly attributed two goals. So I left a comment kindly correcting the oversight. The same thing happened on the blog post about the next game, and again I politely pointed out the mistake.

Well, a few days later the author of the posts, John Howell, asks if I would be interested in writing about the Red Stars for the site. I figure what the hey, might as well since I keep pretty up to date about the league anyway. Little did I know this would start a barrage of emails and welcomes from the Red Stars public relations team and the contributors at Bleacher Report. This might have been a bigger task then I thought.

So, I wrote my first official article (a preview of the Mother’s Day match up between the Red Stars and Sky Blue FC from New Jersey) and posted it Tuesday morning.

A screen shot of the article. I recently learned how to take a screen shot and I've been a bit trigger happy. Sorry.

A screen shot of the article. I recently learned how to take a screen shot and I've been a bit trigger happy. Sorry.

If you want to read the full article, click here. It’s a pretty cool site with tons of international and domestic sports reporting. I should be doing several more articles for them in the near future so keep your eyes peeled. I’ll try to update here letting you know when to check there.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sports

Leave a Reply

