The trip thus far…

Editor’s note: This will be an abridged version seeing as I’m currently typing on a Belgian computer and some of the keys are different and it’s extremely frustrating trying to type. An example?

Here is that sentence, pretending that I’m using the typical American Qwerty keyboard. “This zill be an qbridged version seeing qs Iù; currently typing on q Belgiqn co,puter qnd so,e of the keys qre different qnd itùs extre,ely frustrqting trying to type;” I’m having a grammar seizure right now.

Well lets start from the beginning

May 28: It really hasn’t hit me that I’m going to Europe, that it’s finally here. Plane ride.

May 29: Uh-oh, first day away and already I had a ” this place is weird, I want to go home” moment. I put on my big girl pants and got over it. Belfast was nice, but the weather was confusing. Wasn’t Ireland supposed to be cold wet and rainy? We had blue skies and sunshine. Hmm, maybe it’s a fluke. Jet-lag sets in around 4pm Ireland time. Justin and I fall dead asleep on the bus to Downpatrick. Bernie, Joe’s mom and who we will be staying with met us at the train station. So nice and I can tell already I’m going to love my time with the Bryn’s. They live on a gorgeous farm in Northern Ireland. And of course I have to say it, it’s soooooooo green here. You really have to see it to believe it.

May 30- Justin and I have the day to walk around Downpatrick. It’s a really pretty area, with rolling green hills and shockingly polite people. Bernie, big Martin and little Martin are unbelievable. We felt like we were at home the whole time. Bernie kept trying to feed us and made delicious food. Little Martin and Justin played hurling in the fields. Bernie, Justin and I went for a nice walk through the village. This is the most relaxed I’ve been in a long time. It’s so soothing here.

May 31st- Justin and I miss a bus to Dublin by 1 minute. I’m not exageratting. We were there at 8:36, the bus was scheduled to leave at 8:35. So we catch the bus at 9:35 and head to Dublin. We decided to just skip the whole city and hop on a train to Galway. Everyone we asked said we had to go there so we didn’t want to miss it.

Our bus getting into Dublin was a few minutes late and we had about 20 minutes to catch our train which was convienently located on the other side of town. Justin, in his infinite wisdom, didn’t show me exactly how far we had to go to catch the train so I just walked as fast as I could the whole time. With a 40 pound pack on my back and my smaller backpack in hand, it felt like trying to run in a dream. Like you feel your legs moving but you look around and don’t seem to be going anywhere. We made it to the station with 4 minutes to get our Eurail passes validated and run to the train. We walked the length of Dublin in under 20 minutes. I think it’s about a mile and a half.

Turns out we picked a great weekend to go to Galway seeing as it was hosting the Volvo Ocean Race. Google it. It’s big. So big in fact, every hostel in town was booked. So we had to haggle a hotel room down to a reasonable price and hope a hostel opened up tomorrow. We walked around for a bit, the city was fun. We went to the Spanish Arches bar and listened to an amazing cover band. How amazing? Justin and I ruled the dance floor. That’s how amazing.

June 1st-More Galway. Moved into the Hunlay house hostel. Really clean and welcoming. Met two German girls who might host us in Frankfort. Walked around the Ocean Race some more. I went for a run later in the evening, thinking it´d be nice to see the ocean around sunset. I guess girls running isn´t very common in Ireland because I got quite a few stares and even a few drunken shouts.

June 2nd-Leave Galway for Dingle. Absolutely gorgeous. See the pics. No better way to describe it.

Ok, that´s enough for now. I´ve uploaded more pics on Flickr. The link is on the right.

Leave a comment

Filed under Travel, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

